Archive for May 20th, 2007

May 20, 2007

Dishwater?

A while back I gave you all an introduction to Radeberger beer. I had been pretty supportive of it, and I remain so in general. I try my best to offer guests a taste of Radeberger when they come, and I have been on the brewery tour twice now. However, I understand that Radeberger is not the best-tasting beer around, and like I mentioned before I tend to only order it if it’s on tap. I guess I just have a certain affinity to Radeberger, mainly because I’ve lived here nine months now, that makes me physically cringe, when I read in the New York Times:

“But compared to Radeberger, the dishwater Pilsener from the region, both [beers] had character to spare.”

I know I’m not drinking dishwater, thank you very much! And besides, who would want to drink a beer with salty, sour, or even coriander flavors?

To read the whole article, which is in fact somewhat interesting despite being erroneous:

A German Beer: Searching for Local Brews