A Menu for Thanksgiving

I’m going to squeak in just barely with my promised post today.  But here it is folks (drumroll, please):

Over the next few weeks, up until Thanksgiving, I’m going to be sharing with you recipes that I think are delicious, and put all together will make an amazing Thanksgiving meal.  I’ll not only provide the individual recipes, I will also give you in the week before Thanksgiving a shopping list (that you can edit, so that you can take our things like “salt” or “tomato paste” if you already own those things) and a detailed timeline of what to make when, so you’re not frantically finishing up as your guests are milling about hungry.

The idea is, that with these recipes you will not only be able to enjoy the cooking, but you’ll also enjoy the actual holiday.  I’ve done everything from undercook the turkey to burning the pecans for pecan pie to oblivion and in between, so I know that Thanksgiving preparations can be stressful. Hopefully with these recipes, tips, and schedules you’ll be able to cook your Thanksgiving with a bit more confidence (and success) than some of my past Thanksgivings.  And remember the mantra I have with my sisters: something always has to go wrong with the food on Thanksgiving, otherwise it’s just not Thanksgiving.  It’s how you roll with it that counts.

So, here is the menu we’ll be talking about around here for the next few weeks (look familiar?):

Butternut Squash Soup
Roast Turkey with Herbed Stuffing
Garlic Mashed Potatoes
Green Bean Casserole
Roasted Sweet Potatoes
Dinner Rolls
Pumpkin Pie

To kick it off, grab a martini glass (or any glass, for that matter, we’re not standing on ceremony here) and whip up an Apple Martini – not that you need an excuse, but if you’re going to be serving this along with your Thanksgiving you have to test it out first, right?

Apple Martini
This is a riff off a drink I had and love at Eastern Standard in Boston, MA

1 part Apple Vodka
1/2 part Apple Brandy
1/2 part Benedictine (not B&B)

Supplies: You’ll need a large glass or small cocktail shaker, a strainer (if using a glass), a bar spoon, and a jigger of your choice (I use a 2/1 oz jigger myself).

Fill a small cocktail shaker (or large glass) with ice.  Measure in the liquors.  Tip: when measuring, fill the jigger all the way to the top until the surface tension is all that’s keeping it in the jigger (you’ll probably spill, that’s acceptable collateral for a properly-measured drink, and that’s what napkins were made for).  With the bar spoon, stir the drink well and sing “Happy Birthday” twice.  It’s important to stir thoroughly in order to smooth out the flavors of the drink.  Strain it into a martini glass and serve immediately.

4 Comments to “A Menu for Thanksgiving”

  1. Ooo, this sounds awesome! I’m looking forward to the Butternut Squash Soup. I’m going to a pot luck Thanksgiving with friends from work and was not sure what to make. I think I now know! Thanks!

    • Melissa, that’s wonderful! I’m glad I can help. Your potluck sounds fun! My family always did potluck Thanksgivings growing up. Keep on the lookout, the butternut soup is coming up :)

  2. ah, kerstin, you’re awesome. measuring time by singing “happy birthday” is the best thing i’ve every heard of!!!

    • It’s so much easier that way! And so many cultures know Happy Birthday so it works :) I wonder what other songs would be good? Maybe “Tot ist der Hahn” or Frere Jacques? They’re about the right lengths too.

Leave a comment